So This is the New Year…

surfin-usa-8

Ever have one of those months when everything is absolute insanity? Where you go, “yay, new month” and then the next second that month is over and you never posted its playlist (guilty)? Well, those were May and June for me. I actually have zero clue where they went (although I suppose I could still salvage a bit of June, what with it being only half over and whatnot), but here we are at June 18 and I’m finally catching my breath. I got to watch Jeopardy for the first time close to two weeks. I finally dragged my butt to a barre class for a fun (?) workout. I saw a movie just for kicks. I logged on here for the first time in weeks, for christ’s sake. And somewhere along the way I turned 27.

It was an uneventful birthday, as far as birthdays go. Leanne was the best person ever for risking a humungo hangover with her parents in town to hang out with me. I did a tour of my favorites in Union Square/Murray Hill (pizza pub, Finnerty’s, Bullshead Tavern). I ate a cupcake. I played Big Buck down in Brooklyn and took way too many tequila shots and some drunken stranger tried to kiss me on the mouth. See, uneventful? And unlike in the past, when I’ve turned the age I’ve always felt—I’m looking at you, 25—27 actually feels kind of right. I said no to any and all plans last weekend so I could just decompress, and it was amazing. I told my job I was considering a potential offer and would need to leave after the September issue (I’ll probably leave either way), which also felt amazing. I’ve basically spent a lot of time evaluating what makes me happy, and now I’m attempting the difficult task of aligning the outcome of that evaluation and my current situation. I’m pretty excited for the upcoming year.

ALSO, I’ll be scooting down to Delaware for two days when Dom comes to visit in July. I haven’t taken a trip in what feels like AGES, so I am beyond excited to traipse around Rehoboth Beach and the Dogfish Head Brewery. Plus, we may try and hit Philly on the way back so I can color two states in on my map. Priorities, people. I have them.

[Image]

 

 

Leave a comment

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

Death Row Pen Pal

Writing to a San Quentin Death Row Inmate

Hannah Karena Jones

Author and Book Lover