5 Reasons You Need to Stay at The Jupiter Hotel in Portland, OR

I love the Northwest. I really do. If you asked me for my favorite city in the US, I’d probably say Seattle, followed quickly be the disclaimer that I probably couldn’t live there since, you know, Seahawks. But I also have a certain fondness for Seattle’s quirkier neighbor to the south, in that state that most East Coasters forget separates San Francisco and Seattle. Portland, with its tattooed hipsters and vegan foodie options and other things parodied on Portlandia, feels like a whiter Mission District or less pretentious Williamsburg, and I love it in all its oft-mocked glory.

It’s been a few years since I visited and I’ve killed plenty of brain cells since then, but I do distinctly remember our hotel, The Jupiter Hotel. A boutique hotel inside a renovated motor inn, The Jupiter Hotel is everything you’d expect from Portland. I mean…

Jupiter Hotel

01


1) It’s in a renovated motor inn.
You’re probably not going to run into many families or old couples, especially on the rowdier bar patio side, which overlooks the Doug Fir patio. Speaking of which…

06821_160827_70_firoutP1030549

2) The Doug Fir Lounge, an attached restaurant/bar/live music space, means you can stumble down from your room after a night of too many craft cocktails and score breakfast and a bloody for minimal effort. It also plays host to live music acts most nights of the week, so you could feasibly never leave your hotel.

sorry mom

sorry mom


3) The rooms are actually really insanely nice
, although I do remember the bathroom situation being strangely cramped and tiny (or was that Seattle?). Expect a flat screen TV, free wi-fi, painted murals on the walls (for true hipster cred), pillow-top beds, and chalkboard doors, which we attacked with aplomb.

258700_10100279472606487_2670966_o

4) It’s located in Lower Burnside, on the east side of the Willamette river, where I found most of my favorite places in Portland. That list is topped by Sizzle Pie. I was OBSESSED with Sizzle Pie. You can grab a slice as late as 4am on weekends (unheard of before I moved to New York), it has vegan options, and it doesn’t burn you too hard for being super sloppy after a late night. I think I had a slice every night. I think I made Dom go get a slice one night as a laid in bed. He’s a good person, that one.

258702_10100279472337027_6770937_o

the beauty that is Por Qué No


5) It’s an insanely close to really amazing dining and drinking options.
It’s not just Sizzle Pie, although it could be. Other nearby favorites include Hungry Tiger, My Father’s Place, and Sweetpea Baking Co., and I figure Por Qué No and Bye and Bye (where I saw someone with bird barrettes in her hair, no joke) couldn’t be too far off. As a former vegan (I’m sorry, vegans), I loved all the animal-free eats, especially in so many places that served booze. Win-win.

Basically, Portland is the best and if you go you NEED to stay at the Jupiter Hotel. I have absolutely no affiliation with the hotel/motel/Holidaaaaay Iiiiiiiiiinn (WHAT HAPPENED TO CHINGY?!?), but I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I found myself back in Portland. Looking up flights in 3…2…

[Images: 1 : 2 : 3 : 4 ]

 

Leave a Reply

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

That's All She Wrote.

Food. Travel. Fitness. [In that order, because priorities].

Bemused Narratives

Opinions (not always good), stories (sometimes good), and obsessions (who knows).

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Do it for the story

a New York reader trying to write down her thoughts that come up in the shower or on long car rides - thoughts that would otherwise inevitably escape her forever

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

Collecting the Dots

Do you have enough?

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

