Starting the Week Off Right: A Simple Cleanse

Easy-Vegan-Gluten-Free-Thai-Kale-Salad-Massaged-Kale-Colorful-Veggies-Sesame-Tofu-and-a-Simple-Peanut-Dressing-The-perfect-takelong-lunch-or-light-dinnerI am typing this definitely not from work, after a brutal red-eye flight where I came to the horrifying realization that my seat didn’t recline, EVEN THOUGH I paid extra for it, since it was in an exit row. And I also should have had the row to myself but some terrible troll complained about her seat being broken (suck it up girl) and she sat in my aisle seat. Apparently I have some pent up aggression towards her still. Apparently sleeping hunched over my tray table with a jacket as my pillow doesn’t make me the perkiest. Weird.

Moving on…

After a weekend of very little sleep, very much alcohol, and a dearth of leafy greens of any sort, I am desperate to get back on some sort of track. The gym probably also misses me. So starting tomorrow (I ate an entire bar of “Awake” chocolate earlier, so that’s how this day is going), I am diving headfirst into this simple cleanse. Basically, you just cut out everything good in your life for ten days: gluten, dairy, processed sugar, caffeine, and alcohol. Throw some shakes in in the morning. Feel better. Since someone who shall remain nameless might have overtaxed my blender, I’m probably going to rely on overpriced smoothies from some fancy schmancy juice place for my morning meals, but the rest of the day it’s on like Donkey Kong.

I already cook dairy- and gluten-free at home, so the biggest change up is going to be caffeine—which has become an everyday thing for someone who used to never drink coffee. Wish me luck. Do it with me. Laugh at the fact that this is like the bazillionth (totally a number) time I’ve said I’m doing a cleanse in the last few months. Just please don’t invite me out for wine. I just can’t after a wedding with cab sauv pours so large that the thought of red wine makes me grumpy cat.

[Image]

Leave a Reply

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

That's All She Wrote.

Food. Travel. Fitness. [In that order, because priorities].

Bemused Narratives

Opinions (not always good), stories (sometimes good), and obsessions (who knows).

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Do it for the story

a New York reader trying to write down her thoughts that come up in the shower or on long car rides - thoughts that would otherwise inevitably escape her forever

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

Collecting the Dots

Do you have enough?

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

