Jetset Style: The Basic White Tee

I always think it’s funny when people are surprised I’m not that into fashion, and then I remember I was a style editor and that I currently work at a style magazine. Whoops! I guess it’s not exactly fair to say I’m not into style at all. I constantly want to style the people I see walking around New York (so many times they just could change the shoes and the whole look would be infinitely better), and I do put some effort into looking pulled together and vaguely on-trend. I even put my hangers back into my closet so I know which items I’ve already worn to work, in an effort to utilize more of my wardrobe. BUT, and this is a but deserving of ALL CAPS…I rarely spend money on clothes.

I’m far more likely to shell out $200 on a flight somewhere fun and new than a pair of jeans, and I’m realizing this might be a problem. I have clothes from college still in my closet. I may even have a few pieces from high school, and I’m coming up on my 10-year reunion. I pride myself on buying shoes from Target and H&M and Forevs, and then pay $40 for my cobbler to re-sole them. I don’t invest. And now that my 27th anniversary of my birth is peeking its head around the corner, I’ve been trying to prioritize high-quality basics over fast fashion.

75653665_49bd

08a29fa4_c0c6While I can’t quite justify a $60+ T by Alexander Wang tee quite yet (I came close, but then I calculated how many Seamless orders that would be), I figured Everlane would be a good gateway into high-quality essentials. I now wear the brand’s white tee as often as possible, and plan on picking it up in black. The woman’s V tee will set you back $15, which may be steep if you can’t imagine spending more than $5, but so far it hasn’t shrunk or stretched out weird in the boobs (ladies, you know what I’m talking about), and it’s not too sheer, so I can wear my black bra and not the nude-colored one that’s falling apart. More importantly, I can now say, for the first time in at least 15 years, that I own a white T-shirt. Baby steps, people. Baby steps.

[images: Everlane]

It’s going on the plane with me and my pair of trusty floral print jeans, knock-off Isabel Marant wedge sneakers, and a red lip. Chances are good I’ll also sleep in it. Thanks Everlane, for keeping it real and letting me be basic.

Leave a Reply

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

That's All She Wrote.

Food. Travel. Fitness. [In that order, because priorities].

Bemused Narratives

Opinions (not always good), stories (sometimes good), and obsessions (who knows).

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Do it for the story

a New York reader trying to write down her thoughts that come up in the shower or on long car rides - thoughts that would otherwise inevitably escape her forever

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

Collecting the Dots

Do you have enough?

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

