June Playlist

juneplaylist

So, by now, everyone should get use to the playlists coming up a bit late. June was a bit of a blur. A humid, sweaty, Mr. Freeze in my classroom blur.

Open in Spotify

  1. Lissie – Shameless: I have a bad habit of a loading up the beginning of my playlists with my favorites, and this month is no exception.
  2. Homeboy Sandman – Look Out: obligatory rap/spoken word/multi-genre (?) track.
  3. Elle King – Playing for Keeps: It starts a bit like Duffy, but ramps up right quick.
  4. The Neighbourhood – Wires: It sounds a little like the singer is singing through a tin can or cell phone, but only in the best way. It reminds me of Alt-J, in the way that it’s nothing like Alt-J and I can’t explain it. It actually reminds me of late night parties I used to go to where I knew I should go home, but instead I’d make bad choices and sleep on floors. So I guess it reminds me of being 21/22.
  5. Sean Hayes – Lucky Man: so much grit in the voice, and this one is just such a slow and amazing burn. Probably my second favorite of the playlist.
  6. Langhorne Slim, The Law – The Way We Move: If you go on any road trips, add this song to your playlist. It reminds me of driving top down along the coast, and attractive friends in sunglasses laughing and singing.
  7. Amy Winehouse – Back to Black: I may be the only one who fell in love with the Beyonce version on the Gatsby soundtrack, but I cannot get it out of my head. Unfortunately, Spotify isn’t making it available, so this will have to do.
  8. Cold War Kids – Miracle Mile: I’ve had a soft spot for Cold War Kids since they played a free show at UCSB my senior year, and LUDA played that year, so it’s amazing I remember anything aside from that. This would make a great running song.
  9. Team Spirit – Fuck the Beach: But seriously. Fuck the beach. Sand everywhere. This is probably also another nice road trip song, and it’s much happier than the title would have you believe, with some welcome rough edges.
  10. Toro Y Moi – Rose Quartz: I really can’t explain this track’s appearance on this list. If you like to get high, you’d probably enjoy this, I assume. It reminds me of some of the weird trip hop/world music I’d listen to a lot in the Netherlands.
  11. KC & the Sunshine Band: I BET YOU DIDN’T EXPECT THIS. But just try and listen to this song and not be happy. I dare you.
  12. Kat Dahlia – Mirror: I’m actually not entirely sold on this song, but every time I tried to delete it off the list, I’d listen again and decide to keep it. It’s a creeper. It grows on you.
  13. Rihanna – Cockiness (Love it): It took me two weeks to get this song out of my head, and by listening to it again today, it will be stuck in there forever.
  14. Phosphorescent – Ride On/Right On: I’m trying to think of who the lead singer reminds me. It’s going to drive me nuts. Along with Rihanna being in my head for all eternity.
  15. The Coup – The Magic Clap: You want to get excited to go out? This will pump you up. It also helps if you need to power walk somewhere.
  16. Conor Maynard – Can’t Say No: I’m pretty sure, since this kid sounds like he’s 15, that this is what the kids are listening to these days, but since I’m apparently a teenage girl, I’m okay with it.
Leave a Reply

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

That's All She Wrote.

Food. Travel. Fitness. [In that order, because priorities].

Bemused Narratives

Opinions (not always good), stories (sometimes good), and obsessions (who knows).

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Do it for the story

a New York reader trying to write down her thoughts that come up in the shower or on long car rides - thoughts that would otherwise inevitably escape her forever

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

Collecting the Dots

Do you have enough?

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

