Gramercy Food and Drinks: BXL Zoute

l

I’m a little embarrassed to admit this, but I got beyond obsessed with an advanced copy of a young adult book called Blythewood I picked up in class. I started it after I finished Domestic Violets on the subway, and the kid fantasy/supernatural lover in me came out. In a big way. I started to get really excited about my commute, when I would open it from the back cover so no one would see what I was reading. Then, about 300 pages in, I just started owning my obsession. I read it at a bar in Central Park. I read it at home in bed, when I should have been working on job applications. And I read it at a quaint little Belgian place called BXL Zoute on my way home on Saturday.

I stopped in when I realized I hadn’t eaten anything all day and it was 5 p.m. (I enthusiastically destroyed a mini-pizza and kitkat at around 4am the night before.) Aside from a group of friends enjoying some beers out on the small patio, it was just me, another lonely dude, and the servers inside.

2

Photo from BXL Facebook page

Let me get something out of the way right quick. As much as I don’t mind hitting up a bar by myself, I don’t have the same enthusiasm for eating by myself. But armed with an embarrassing book about a boarding school where they teach girls to fight supernatural creatures? I camped out. Just me, a charcuterie and cheese plate, and a last minute order of frites, which you can’t judge me for, since I hadn’t eaten all day, OKAY?

Screen shot 2013-07-01 at 10.51.24 PM

The taps are all belgian, the house terrine in the charcuterie plate was top notch, I ate the frites with mayonnaise like my ass didn’t have a care in the world, and the server seemed totally okay with me leaving that same ass planted on a bar stool well after my meal and beer were gone. If I had friends, BXL Zoute would be a sweet place to kick it on the patio, sipping a Duvel, Delerium Tremens, or Leffe. Since I’m a weirdo who reads books aged for girls age 12+, it’s nice to know there’s a place where I can get score good Belgian eats, unobtrusive service, and an impressive lineup of European drafts. Dank u wel, BXL Zoute.

50 W. 22nd St., bxlcafe.pregraphic.com/bxlzoute/

One comment

  1. […] like he’s 15, that this is what the kids are listening to these days, but since I’m apparently a teenage girl, I’m okay with […]

Leave a Reply

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

That's All She Wrote.

Food. Travel. Fitness. [In that order, because priorities].

Bemused Narratives

Opinions (not always good), stories (sometimes good), and obsessions (who knows).

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Do it for the story

a New York reader trying to write down her thoughts that come up in the shower or on long car rides - thoughts that would otherwise inevitably escape her forever

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

Collecting the Dots

Do you have enough?

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

