Gramercy Food and Drinks: Pizza Pub

2753_61297783476_6822349_n

I’ve built something of a reputation for myself in this NYU summer program, apparently. See, I didn’t realize that other people, uh, don’t study in bars. I also didn’t realize that people, uh, don’t go to bars by themselves. And after having the fifth or so person ask me where I go around Gramercy Green (our lovely dorm), I figured I’d start chronicling the places I go and such. For posterity. And people who are apparently unfamiliar with Yelp. And really, it should start with Pizza Pub.

I can’t take credit for “discovering” (it’s literally half a block down, so I’m sure its no hidden secret) Pizza Pub. That goes to another person in my group. What I can take credit for is frequenting it religiously. See, Pizza Pub has this nice habit of offering $5 for a slice of cheese pizza and pint of house beer. Or a free slice with every shot. and free wi-fi. It also tends to be one of the last safehouses against the douchedom that runs rampant through Kip’s Bay. Sure, they filter in every once in a while, but the suits usually flock to one of the nearby watering holes (cough cough Taproom cough cough), and leave me alone in Pizza Pub to hulk in the corner like some sway backed lagoon creature. And oh, do I hulk.

The bartenders are friendly enough, if you get the chick that loves Rubik’s cubes or the dude who probably shares your hatred of the rude gaggle of horse-faced harpies in the corner. Sure, they may slowly turn the lights down on you until your face is the  only thing lit by the unnatural glow of your screen, but every once in a while, they look the other way when you don’t hit the credit card limit ($10, i believe), because you tipped them $5 last time on a $5 tab. It’s just a simple place. You can get food and beer. You can go by yourself. And you can avoid the parade of assholes that march around 3rd ave after work, ordering Kettle and tonics (which appears to be my new least favorite thing. You’re a man for god’s sake. order some goddamn whiskey). Go to Pizza Pub. Be happy. Your wallet will thank you.

294 3rd Ave.
(212) 477-8100
https://www.facebook.com/thepizzapub.nyc
(on an unrelated note, I am eating hummus that has a sell-by date of 5/27. By the time you read this, I’m probably dead, or superhuman.)

2 comments

  1. […] tend to fall in love with certain bars and visit them over and over again, securing my place on a barstool with loose […]

  2. […] love for Lulu’s all boils down to one simple thing: free pizza. Much like my love for Pizza Pub, which sustained me through six weeks of NYU’s Summer Publishing program and the […]

Leave a Reply

theFIVE10.com

Music Photos. Music News. Music Reviews. Music Interviews.

That's All She Wrote.

Food. Travel. Fitness. [In that order, because priorities].

Bemused Narratives

Opinions (not always good), stories (sometimes good), and obsessions (who knows).

Explorations

Sights, sounds, smells and observations from a Millennial's point of view.

Rachel Behr

UCF '13 Grad. Student at NYU's Summer Publishing Institute. Aspiring Editor making my start in NYC

THE GOTHAM COLUMN

the what and where in and around nyc

Do it for the story

a New York reader trying to write down her thoughts that come up in the shower or on long car rides - thoughts that would otherwise inevitably escape her forever

Samantha Richards

A Collection of Writings

Collecting the Dots

Do you have enough?

The Boob Tube

Everything TV According to Ksquared

Couch Potato Press

Film, TV and book reviews

Life Lessons with Julie

My journey to find balance in a world filled with chaotic extremes.

Paola Quinones

Trapped in two dimensions

